journaling

I’ve been doing a lot of organizing at home, and tackled our bedroom a few weekends ago. I hate to start with a tangent, but just as I was thinking, “I really need to get this room organized…”, my husband woke up one morning, heard a little squeaking sound, opened the bottom drawer of his bedside table and came face-to-face with a little mouse. Even though I’m a vet, I have an irrational fear of rodents in my house (no problem whatsoever seeing them as patients), so I’m glad it wasn’t me. Not that it would have been, becasue when I hear mouse-like sounds, I freeze in fear, I don’t go investigating. Anyway, two mouse-trap snaps later, and I got serious about organizing and cleaning the heck out of our room.

Of all the rooms in our house, the bedroom seems to collect the most dust. It’s the least lived-in room, and collects the most clothes, dust, etc. So it was great to clean every drawer, table-top, etc. It’s amazing, the crap that accumulates.

In the bottom drawer where the ill-fated, previously mentioned mouse was found, I found my journals. Back in 1991, my sister, then quite a journaler herself, bought me my first journal, and so I have this fantastic record of every ridiculous thought that went through my teeny-bopper head, and my overwrought college-student head, and my jeez-my-20s-were-rough head. The journaling fizzled significantly with vet school and halted completely with marriage and children.

I realized as I read through my early years with true enjoyment and, certainly, some embarrassment, that I would be totally remiss if I didn’t keep it up. Because I think maybe my 70-year-old self will get a kick out of what I thought about my life during this time.  And so it became apart of my New Year’s Resolution (which I still LOVE), and now every Sunday before bed I jot down a few notes in my journal about life. It’s fun.

Similarly, I feel like I might miss THIS record of my life, and so I’m thinking about starting it up again. It’s not a resolution, but I’d like to give it a go. I miss it, and blogging has always been a fun outlet for me – at least for the past 10 years.

So, we will see how it goes.

2 thoughts on “journaling

  1. Christina

    YES! I’ve been reading the blog since you started vet school… Then I started vet school… And when you graduated I was rooting for you! I loved hearing every detail and was a bit devastated (but, understood) when you stopped. I myself have since graduated and moved to Australia to have my own adventures but it was always yours that gave me to inspiration to get out there and do it!

  2. Veterinarimom

    Welcome back!!! I think I also read just about every post here, when I was thinking of applying, then applying, then going to vet school! And I was so bummed when you stopped writing, although I’m terrible about it myself so have no grounds for complaint! But I’m very glad you’re back!

Leave a comment