my funny valentine

On Valentine’s Day, some time between morning surgeries and an afternoon full of appointments, I got a call from my farmer.

“This is your Valentine’s present!” he proclaimed. “What?”, I asked. “This call! I’m wishing you a Happy Valentine’s Day!”. I told him that I was impressed that he remembered and he confessed that he hadn’t until the guy on the radio in his tractor mentioned it.  I wasn’t shocked, or disappointed. We aren’t big on gifts in general, and my farmer has the sentimentality of a rock.  Which really is fine with me. When he asked if I had gotten him a present, I admitted that I hadn’t. I had thought about it a little, but got too busy and didn’t follow through. That’s how I roll.  He was relieved.

When I was single, I hated Valentine’s Day with a vengeance.  Now that I’m happily married, the day passes exactly as it used to, and I love it.  Go figure.

3 thoughts on “my funny valentine

  1. Natalie

    Hello,

    I know this is kind of a random comment, but I found your blog a couple weeks ago, and I have just finished reading through it (up till the current date). I wanted to let you know that your blog was very inspirational, insightful and interesting! I am a first year vet student and it just made me really excited for the whole process.
    Good luck with everything!

  2. Brooke Crosier

    Hi, like the blog-reader before me, I also just came across your blog and wanted to tell you how much I am enjoying it. I also graduated from vet school in 2010 and have been living the crazy life of a new grad, filled with tremendous highs and the lowest lows. Through it all it’s been exciting, and I am learning a ton. I have so much admiration for you, starting up a practice right out of school. I have been working as an associate at a mixed practice in a very rural, rather impoverished area. While my boss isn’t around a ton for mentorship, I can’t imagine not having anyone around to whine about a spay to, or to bounce ideas regarding blood work off of. More power to you! You are an inspiration. Good luck with the new baby and new practice.

  3. Babette Smith

    Hello,

    I wanted to drop you a line and compliment you on your website and blog. Nice layout, good tips, and an overall great resource on the practical issues that accompany entering the veterinary field.

    I currently work for an in house veterinary financing plan provider and we are interested in advertising on your site because we think it would be a great fit for us.

    Please let me know if this is possible.

    Thank you for your time. I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

