goodbye, summer of leisure

The marathon has started, and it feels like a sprint. Game is ON. Opening in 23 days.

The last four days have been a blur of stress, painting, primer, cleaning, hauling, stress, etc.

Long, busy days, and then it’s hard to sleep at night because my brain is spinning about all the things I still have to do.

Can I tell you, in the same sentence, how much I love my husband and how much I hate painting ceilings? I guess I can. And I do. We started painting the ceilings, and I painted about 7 sq ft before my farmer took over and painting the rest of the ceilings in the whole clinic. It’s a good man who will paint ceilings for his woman.

I miss my sweet summer of lingering over business plans, baking bread, planning dinners. It wasn’t all fun and games, but I’m pretty sure there was a day or two in there where my biggest concern was evening out my tan lines.

To really drive the point home, the air has become drier, and the corn is definitively browner (corn drying out is the Iowa equivalent to New England foliage). The weather is gorgeous, but decidedly more fall-like. It’s a brand-new life, all over again.

Leave a Reply

