another rotation ends, another vacation begins

My second primary care rotation is over, and I enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time I took it. It made me happy, erased any negativity that might have built up after working with cows and radiographs, and totally reminded me why I want to be a vet. We were busy but not overwhelmed, got to work with four different doctors (I so appreciate variety when it comes to role models).  It was a great two weeks.

And now, I am on vacation again. It’s just for a week – next Monday I’ll start a one-week Cardiology rotation. I’m flying home tomorrow and it feels completely surreal. I don’t feel at all on vacation – even now, just a few hours in, I’m stumbling around trying to figure out what I should be doing.

And of course, what I should be doing is cleaning and packing. Going to the gym and reading one of the books I picked up from the library. Texting my friends who are taking the boards this week my good luck wishes. Making Christmas lists and unpacking decorations. Just life, in general. After three years as a veterinary student who has spent this time cramming for exams, you can understand why “life” is feeling a bit foreign.

Leave a Reply

