and…i’m done!

I survived. Finals are all over. FOREVER!!! 

I can’t tell you what a relief it is. There are no words to describe how glad I am to put this part of my life behind me, forever. I took my first prerequiste class for vet school in January 2002, and SEVEN years later, it’s over, just like that, and I can move on to the next thing: Clinics! 

I might be less excited about Clinics when I get started. ICU is four weeks long (all other rotations are two), with 12 hour shifts, 5 days a week. Two weeks are spent working days (7a-7p or 10a-10p) and two are spent working overnights (7p-7a, or if you’re on large animal ICU, 11p-8a). Fortunately, I like everyone who is on the rotation with me (huge relief), and my first two weeks are on days. And really I think the experience will be very much like the work I did at my old hospital, as an emergency/critical care nurse, so I feel pretty comfortable going in (though learning where everything is, protocols, etc….ugh). 

The thing is, and I know I’m still a student and certainly not getting paid (ha!), but I love to work. I love to have a job, have responsibilities, be able to do something that benefits someone other than myself.  I like having a schedule, and I LOVE not having to go home and studying at the end of the day. And I KNOW, I’m still learning, there’s still plenty of studying in my future, but all the same I’m so happy to finally be at this stage – both because it’s an obvious milestone, and also because I think I’ll really, really love it.  Just think how happy I’ll be when I start getting a paycheck again! I won’t know what to do with myself. 

But first, I have 18 more hours to celebrate, before I report to the ICU at 7AM tomorrow morning. I’m getting a massage in few hours (birthday present, yay!), and then having a bunch of people over to celebrate. Have much to do to prepare!!!

One thought on “and…i’m done!

Leave a Reply

