Cleaning Day

Every semester seems to end the same way, despite my best efforts to make it otherwise: with me exhausted, dirty, messy, usually in unclean sneakers and sweats or old jeans (but feeling proud that i managed to put clothes on); my kitchen sink overflowing (not with clean dishes), the cat litter in need of cleaning, the fridge empty, the trash full, clothes on the floor, in pretty much every room. It’s not a pretty picture. But after 5 semesters I’ve just come to accept that it is the way it is, and rather than bother over it during the week, I have just anoited the day after my last day: Cleaning Day.

It’s such a good day, to finally be free of any academic responsibility, it’d be nice to not have to clean, but c’est la vie. I also get to sleep late, lounge around, get caught up on the rest of my life, so it’s not all bad. But the bathroom is currently sparkling, laundry is in the washer and dryer, and I’m about to tackle the kitchen. 

I’m leaving bright and early in the morning, weather permitting – I’m flying into Boston through Milwaukee, but the weather looks like it will clear a path for me. For some ridiculous reason I picked a 5:55AM flight out of Des Moines, which means that I’ll have to get up before 4AM AGAIN, but I’ll be able to sleep on the plane quite easily, I am sure. 

And this is it, probably my last Christmas vacation until I retire where I won’t have to worry about requesting time off and arranging work schedules. I don’t yet know what I’ll be doing next year, though I’m still working to get the Christmas block off (obviously I have a lot of competition), and maybe schedule an externship in New England around that time. But I don’t have a whole lot of control over it – there’s every possibility that I’ll be stuck here, working in the ICU. Regardless, I’m really excited – I think it’s going to be a great year.

One thought on “Cleaning Day

  1. Life in Vet School

    Oh, that sounds like so much fun — I can’t WAIT to get to clinics! Even spending Christmas break in the ICU sounds like fun. 🙂 Around here, we’re discouraged from volunteering in the hospital unless we can commit for a year to a certain number of hours/week, which is not compatible with our school-year schedule. So I have to wait a couple years to get to work in the teaching hospital, although I’m thinking of taking a week away from lab this summer and trying to work at a local emergency hospital to dust off my clinical skills a little bit.

    I am in exactly the same boat about cleaning! At the end of finals week, I was proud of myself for never actually going to school in my pajamas (although I wore a lot of comfy pajama-like running fleece!). And now the bathroom is a disaster, although I tackled my mountain of dirty dishes right after my last exam. My fiance does some cleaning when I’m too busy, but he also guilt-trips me about the fact that I’m not helping, which always ends up in a fight when I point out that with studying I’m actually working about 80 hours a week to his 50. But at least someone is taking care of some of the dog hair!

Leave a Reply

