odds and ends

School has been busy for the last few weeks. We had two exams last week – Virology and Anasthesiology. Then today we had a Public Health exam (most boring class imaginable…doing research might be interesting, but learning about how to do research is NOT, in my opinion). And tomorrow, we have our first surgery exam. So far we’ve covered surgery of the head and digestive tract, including the mouth, esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine and anus. And really it’s more like 50% surgery and 50% internal medicine, as it’s not really much use knowing how to do an ear canal ablation, for example, if you don’t know why you’d want to do one. Our professor is great, but still it’s odd learning surgery without actually performing it, or even seeing it done. I have a feeling that it’s one of those things where in a year it’ll all make sense, even if it doesn’t now.

Since all of my Surgery notes are in the form of PowerPoint slides, on my computer, studying in a coffee shop gets somewhat awkward. I can only imagine what the guy sitting behind me thinks of my ‘anal neoplasia’ pictures.

So…what else? I do have some really good things coming up, but they aren’t absolutely finalized yet, so I can’t write about them and risk jinxing myself. February is almost half over, which is lovely – for some reason this semester I’m just dying to get over with…I don’t really know why, it’s not a bad one at all. Iowa seems to be getting to me more than normal, though, so I think i’m just looking forward to the summer.

Speaking of, I’m 99% sure I’ll be spending the summer in New England. I was toying with staying here, but a. I missed the deadline to apply for the only job that might have made it worthwhile financially, b. Nothing would have made it worthwhile personally, and c. I think I might have gone completely insane. So, yeah, Boston here I come! It’ll be good though, I have a job (or 2 or 3) waiting for me, and there’s even a chance that there will be an excellent housing option. Again, can’t say anything and risk jinxing myself.

Ok, back to studying for me now. If I can get through two more lectures I’m going to go to the gym for a good workout while I watch American Idol. Yep, that’s a “treat” for me nowadays…

Leave a Reply

